Highlights of the October 19, 2024 Stated Presbytery Meeting

On October 19, 2024, the Presbytery of the James held a Stated Meeting at the Second Presbyterian Church, Richmond and on Zoom. Moderator Cherry Peters called the meeting to order at 9:30 p.m. A quorum was present. Cherry opened the meeting with prayer, following which she made a statement of land acknowledgement.

TE Janet James, Moderator of the Mission Council, called for adoption of the agenda, which was **approved by acclamation.** Janet then called for adoption of the following motions:

That presbytery elect the following to serve on the Committee on Representation:

- TE Crystal Varner Parker, class of 2027, term 1
- RE Zamaita Melendez, class of 2027, term 1
- RE Donna Kelly, class of 2026, term 1
- TE Todd Davidson, class of 2026, term 1
- TE Nate Taylor, class of 2025, term 1.

The motion was **adopted by acclamation**.

Motion: That presbytery elect the following to serve on the Committee on Nominations:

- TE Kate Fiedler, region E, class of 2027, term 1
- TE Inger Manchester, region A, class of 2027, term 1
- RE Joslyn Shipman, region F, class of 2025, term 1
- RE Marjorie Clark, region E, class of 2025, term

The motion was **adopted by acclamation**.

Motion: To approve the use of monies from the Church and Ministries Development Fund for the severance agreements with Rev. Dr. Floretta Barbee-Watkins and Rev. Leigh Anne Ring. The motion was adopted by a vote of 60 to 44.

Rev. Laura Sugg and Rev. Crystal Varner Parker made the following motion was made on behalf of the Anti-Racism Committee:

Motion: That the presbytery approve the Presbytery of the James Anti-Racism Policy. The motion was adopted by a vote of 97 to 9.

Rev. Walter Canter made the following motion on behalf of the Committee on Nominations:

Motion: to elect the slate of nominees presented by the Committee on Nominations:

POJ Moderator-	Josh Andrezejewski	MWS	First, Richmond	2025
POJ Vice Moderator-	Peggy Fox	RE	Woodville	2025

COM Moderator- Joseph Tabor MWS Culpeper 2027

COM- Region C	Todd Davidson	MWS	Sandston	2026
COM-Region C	Harold Cothern	RE	Tuckahoe	2026
COM- Region A	Helen Phillips	RE	Westminster, C'ville	2027
COM- Region B	Mike Watson	MWS	Fairfield	2027
COM- At large	Ronda Williams	RE	Kirk O'Cliff	2025
CPM Moderator-	Nicole Ball	MWS	First, Richmond	2027
CPM- At large	Sandi Goehring	MWS	Louisa	2027
CPM- At large	Nathan Taylor	MWS	Salisbury	2027
CPM- Region A	Kelly Kaufman	MWS	Tabor	2027
CPM-Region A	Jeanne Ann Williams	RE	Blue Ridge	2027
CPM- Region B	Keith Curran	MWS	Fairfield	2027
CPM- Region C	Christopher Tweel	MWS	Three Chopt	2026
MC- Region B	Dave Thomen	RE	Summit	2027
MC- Region E	Web Morre	RE	2nd Richmond	2025
MC- Region D	Chandra Easter	RE	1st United Richmond	2026
LCT Moderator	Carson Rhyne (ret.)	MWS	Summit	2027
MST- Region A	Sandi Goehring	MWS	Louisa	2027
Special Finance	David Forney	MWS	1st C'ville	
Special Finance	Karen Allamon	MWS	Madison	

The motion was adopted by acclamation.

Moderator Peters declared the Stated Meeting adjourned at 1:23 p.m. and closed the meeting with prayer.